I stayed at Paradizo Azul, Playa El Sunzal when I was in El Salvador a few months back, and Javier, the place’s GM and pro surfer taught me to surf! I can’t say I’m a pro yet — by ANY stretch of the imagination. Not even close. But it was a whole load of fun!!!

On my plane ride back from El Salvador, I was sitting next to a couple young 30 something businessmen from Southern California. They were on their way back from surfing at El Sunzal and Punta Roca. Turns out they fly down down to El Salvador almost once a month! And they are not the only ones so committed to El Salvador’s waves. El Salvador has a culture of followers flocking to ride its waves! Shows how little I know about surfing because I thought the waves in Cali were fairly good. And some must be, as it does have a pretty big surf culture, after all. But “fairly good” doesn’t cut it if you are a surf lover! As Javier told me, and as these guys confirmed, the waves in El Salvador are some of the best in the world! So, people come from all over the world to catch some “juicy” waves (Javier speak).  Punta Roca is often compared to Jeffrey’s Bay in South Africa, and Las Flores is often compared to Rincon in California! Luckily, there are some great beginner waves around El Sunzal where it was safe for me, and those other beginners out there, to take to El Salvador’s friendly waters.

(Watch for the video coming soon, as part of a bit I’m putting together about some of Central America’s best adventures!)

If you go down to El Salvador’s beautiful coast yourself, look for Javier hanging out at the Kayu Bar & Grill. (By the way, the food and VIEWS there are exceptional, so you’ll enjoy it even if you are a non-surfer!).

Tell Javier that Percy sent you!

Don’t forget to check out my guide to El Salvador!


Me and my surfboard. Yeah, I’m a poser…

With Javier, Paradizo’s General Manager (and Surfer Extraordinaire)!

 

