Famed archaeology professor Indiana Jones is more than simply a  character. Last year, Time Magazine named him the #2 fictional character of all time!

First conceived by George Lucas and Steven Spielberg as a classic action hero, Indiana Jones has grown into a  world-wide brand. A brand that signifies ultimate adventure. Since first  appearing in Raiders of the Lost Ark in 1981, this khaki wearing, fudora wearing legend has become the face of theme parks in LA and Tokyo as well as novels, merchandise gallore and several sequels. And this year marks the  30th anniversary of Indiana Jone’s first legendary adventure on the big  screen.

Most young boys, and even most men, dream of calling themselves the ultimate adventurer — and I’ll admit I’m one of those dreamers! While I may not have had to battle with dark forces (like in the movies) on my recent archaeology quest in Guatemala, I did help uncover some outstanding treasures and got a little glimpse into the life of an archaeologist adventurer! In fact, the day I arrived at La Blanca, the site featured in this video, a new discovery had just been made. So, I got in on the action and climbed right into the  excavation dugout with the archaeologists at work…and what we found even solved some of the larger Mayan site’s mysteries!

My adventures start here: http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-584728


My Guatemala Guide

